The Power of ‘terpaksa’

Muelheim a.d. Ruhr, 10:43 p.m

(originally) Started on January 2009 (date:forgotten)

Do you know what the strongest motivator is?? Money?? Could be… we need money to live, right? Love?? Bisa jadi… for some of us. Family?? Yeah… and what an honorary motive that is. But even when those three things are not enough to move someone, there is one stronger motivator… the great all mighty of “TERPAKSA”, hee hee…

Tadi pagi gue ngobrol ama salah satu sahabat gue, cerita gimana sepinya seminggu belakangan ini ditinggal berdua aja ama Baby Naila. And she was like so amazed that I am able to handle Naila all by myself… like completely alone. Hahahaa… yes I am, 3 minggu party of two with my baby because her Dad have to earn some cash. Menurut gue sendiri siy, I am not doing too well… rumah kayak abis diterjang Katrina, makan berprinsip kuantitas bukan kualitas, mandi tiga hari sekali dengan perasaan tak menentu (untungnya dengan suhu -3, gue jadi jarang keringetan), kuliah terbengkalai… but she still think that what I do is amazing. Huhuhuhu… mungkin dia cuma mau membesarkan hatiku tapi teteeep… I appreciated sooo much!!!

Di akhir pembicaraan gue mengenai topik ini – setelah gue jelasin betapa buruknya keadaan gue, just to make sure she didn’t have the wrong perception about me – gue dan dia berkesimpulan bahwa dalam keadaan ‘terpaksa’ semua orang pasti bisa melakukan apa saja. Gak usah jauh-jauh lah, take me for instance!!

If you knew me from the beginning, you might think that I am a spoiled kid. I had never done house chores unless it was lebaran day when I didn’t have any helper, I had a driver to get me everywhere I want, I rarely took the bus… phiuh having said all that, I myself thinks I’m spoiled. I had the privilege to be brought up in a good environment, I didn’t live in a mansion with seven maids… but still, I think my life was above the average.

Look, don’t get me wrong.. I’m not trying to brag about my childhood, it’s just my way to get to a point of this writing. Anyway.. maybe if you knew back then you would never believe things I’ve gone through.

I think it all began when I got my first job… di negara antah berantah yang bernama CIbitung. It was soooo far far away from my parents house, so I decided I’d live in dormitory provided by the company. And there began my adventure.

You should see my room!! Kamar 3×3 dengan plafon seadanya, dinding retak-retak, kamar mandi tanpa tegel dan tanpa plafon yang sering kehabisan air, struktur bangunan yang kurang beres sehingga tiap kali ujan gede selalu banjir, listrik sering mati tanpa permisi, air bersih yang antara ada dan tiada. Haha… but I love those time! Made me feel independent. True that my mom had renovate the place a little (which I felt so embarassed at that time), but still it is not something I would imagine to live in.

I finally did some choreess!! Hahaha… tiap minggu nyapu dan ngepel kamar, ngosek kamar mandi setelah gue tinggal wiken di rumah orang tua. Nyuci baju, nyetrika baju, kadang sampe masak, semua belajar di saat-saat itu. Gue bahkan pernah disindir salah satu temen asrama, dibilang ga pernah nyetrika sebelumnya. Rada tersinggung juga siy sebenernya… But, what the heck!!! Emang kenyataannya begitu kok, I am just grateful I was given a chance to learn.

I finally took busses home… tiap jumat, gue orang pertama di kantor yang kabur, no matter what happen I have to get home right after office hours ends. Semua orang tau, dan walaupun banyak kalimat sinis yang keluar… gue ga peduli. I just smile like a puppy and ran.. hey what can I say!! A lady can have a life more than just work, right!? Lagipula gue harus ngejar bus yang cuma sejam sekali, otherwise gue harus ganti-ganti bis, and I don’t like that. Gue pernah berdiri dua jam di tangga bis depan pintu masuk, di bawah ketek seseorang dengan badan basah kuyup keujanan. Beberapa kali ketemu lelaki psycho yang bisa bikin gue pegang payung kenceng-kenceng siap gebukin orang. Haha.. seru banget saat-saat itu!!

And then comes this period of my life, living abroad… people might think that living abroad is so glamorous and all, well i don’t think so anymore. Disini kita bener-bener harus usaha sendiri untuk dapetin yang kita mau, boro-boro cari hiburan dengan nonton bioskop ato minum kopi di starbucks… Mau makan sate ayam aja harus nusuk sendiri, bakar sendiri. Persiapannya satu jam, makannya cuma 15 menit. Siapa sangka siy gue bisa masak bakso, siomay, batagor, tiramisu, nasi uduk… siapa sangka gue bisa masak!? Semua karena terpaksa, kalo engga kita mah tinggal naek mobil ke depan komplek… ato nunggu abangnya lewat depan rumah. Maann, hidup di Indonesia tuh ennaakkk bangeettt!!!

The point of this writing is… I am perfectly sure that anyone is capable of anything. So if ever you are in doubt that you could not do something, believe that with one thing you’d be able to do. TERPAKSA (what’s that in english??)

Leave a Reply

