I’ve been Facebooked

Muelheim a.d. Ruhr, (originally wrote on) 19th January 2009

11:23 p.m.

The biggest thing in the cyber world to date (this is my personal opinion) is Social Networking Websites, there are more than 50 websites based on networking services. What is social networking really? According to Wikipedia:

A social network service focuses on building online communities of people who share interests and/or activities, or who are interested in exploring the interests and activities of others. Most social network services are web based-mail and instant messaging services. and provide a variety of ways for users to interact.

Social networking has created new ways to communicate and share information. Social networking websites are being used regularly by millions of people, and it now seems that social networking will be an enduring part of everyday life.

Hmmm… jadi inget waktu pertama kali Friendster booming di Indonesia, sekitar tahun 2004 kalo ngga salah. Semmuuuaaa orang maen Friendster, dari yang nge-add temen yang duduk di sebelahnya, cari temen yang udah lama ga ketemu, sampai asal nambah kenalan hanya karena orang itu cantik atau ganteng. Dari yang asal punya account aja sampai yang nafsu banyak-banyakan temen sampe punya account lebih dari satu karena kehabisan limit. Ada yang punya account tapi gak diapa-apain, tapi ada juga yang account nya ‘indah’ banget: skin-nya keren, banyak foto buat dipamerin, pasang slide bergoyang-goyang yang catchy sampe lagu yang bikin acc-nya tambah meriah.

I was one of them… well not thaat extrem, but I was a loyal user of Friendster once. I had to quit for awhile (for some reason) but a lot of people forced me to resume when I had to go to Germany. Now, here I am… blogging in this so annoying blogging service offered by Friendster.

I have to admit… Social Networking Websites are 21st century wonder of the world.

It’s a tool to stay connect to your friend and relatives without the trouble of picking phones, writing a letter, blowing smoke, flying pigeons or any kind of remote communications. By showing your photos you show your relative of how you’ve been doing… or you show off your achievement to anyone you want to show off to.

It’s a great way to meet new people. Let’s say you’re in a mall and you saw this beautiful girl. Would you have the guts to say hi?? Not all of us… but if you saw it in MYSPACE, you’re just one click away from her name, her e-mail address, status, hobbies, interests and the last movie she saw. This cyber boundary somehow makes people more secure, maybe because they think they would feel less embarrass towards any rejection. That’s why a lot of people have more than 600 friends per account. But, how do we know that the friendship is sincere?? Do you consider yourself someone’s friend when you never talked to her, meet her in person?? Do you sincerely want to be his friend or do you only want to add the number of your friends as to show how popular you are??

It is a way to meet and share with someone with the same interest as you. The more popular the website, the more member it has, the easier it is to find a person you want. Person with the same hobby, same school, or someone who’s looking for love, someone with the same sex orientation… you name it! Just type on the search box. Hey!! you can even search you ex-boyfriend new girlfriend and look how she used to be fat and laugh about it. Hmmm, I wonder… what is the boundary between looking through someone’s interest with simply being nosy??

4 Years have passed since I first sat on the megalab in my campus to registered myself to the biggest social networking in Indonesia, yet now become obsolete. The new generation, fully improved social networking website called Facebook is here. Why do I make such a fuss about it?? Because I am amazed of people  reaction toward this website. Ow, I’ve heard about it.. I know that most people is starting to migrate to this thingy, but the voice inside of me keep saying no… and I thought it’s kinda cool to rebel from community for once in awhile. hihihi silly, huh!? Well anyway, I vowed myself to never touch this thing called FACEBOOK

but theeen…

One day I met a girl in the real world, we exchange phone numbers and email address and then she said something like, “Okay, so everything is by this email address right?? YM, Facebook?” She said that as if Facebook is a certainty for everyone. It’s like “handy number in 2009” (hopefully there is still someone out there that doesn’t use cell phone these days), or ATM card on your wallet. That was the first time I realized how big this thing is?? Is not having FACEBOOK account means that you don’t exist??

Since then people I know kept nagging with questions like: “Do you have FACEBOOK?” and I would like… “no I dont” and they would like “Say WHAAAATTT??! (hare geneeee??)” and then I would defend myself with all that mumbo jumbo of being rebellious and stuff. And for some (God knows what) reason they kept persuading me, giving me facts and reason of why I should join FACEBOOK. Thank God they didn’t sell some kind of MLM product or something. And this is keep repeating over and over, just like some kind of conspiracy theory performed by the universe. hihihi hiperbol..

Until one day… one beautiful day… I decided, “oow, I think I’ll activate my YM today, just to chat with some of my friends. And then BANG BANG BANG BANG… someone shoot a machine gun at me. Everyone… literally EVERYONE that chatted with me that day (could be about 8 people) asked that damn question: “Ruby, do you have a facebook…?” and I had to perform my above defensive ritual until I get sooooo tired, I gave up.

I registered to facebook…

I said to myself, the guy behind FACEBOOK must be now stinkin rich. And here is a glimpse of the genius behind the magic (taken from Wikipedia… God bless it)

Mark Zuckerberg founded Facebook while he was a student at Harvard University. Website membership was initially limited to Harvard students, but was expanded to other colleges in the Ivy League and Stanford University. It later expanded further to include any university student, then high school students, and, finally, to anyone aged 13 and over. The website currently has more than 150 million active users worldwide.

Now that I am a member of it, I end up developing some terms related to FACEBOOK. Perawan Facebook or Facebook virgin means a newbie or new member in Facebook; Facebooked means infected by Facebook virus Facebook-ly active, means being active in Facebook for example: if the first you do after turning on your computer is log in to facebook… then you are facebook-ly active; if your response time to facebook such as confirming friend-add or comment is less than 10 minutes… you are facebook-ly active; if you put comment in every single feature available in facebook, YOU are facebook-ly active. Better watch out now… those words are going to be big, they would be put up in the dictionary someday just like ‘bootylicious’ and ‘googling’. Then I’d be the rich copyright owner, hehehe…

Well it’s a wrap… I’l jus finish this blog and check my facebook home before I go to bed.

Ow, and yea… I’VE BEEN FACEBOOKED

Leave a Reply

